soapboxdiner


Drunk and beautiful



I think the neighbors and I are making progress! You see, usually when I step out my door, they are right there in the street. So they stop what they're doing to gawk and stare and in general make me feel really uncomfortably watched. But this weekend? When I was out power washing the house and cleaning the patio and mowing lawn and weeding the garden and washing the car? They actually smiled at me and allowed their children to play with my child with the hose and chatted without getting all weird and hateful! And then? When I was all bent over washing the under sidepanels and stuff on the car? And I heard a grown man voice from behind me in my yard? And I jumped out of my skin from the unusualness of grown man voices talking to me from my yard? It turned out that the neighbor had opened his back door and jumped out of his house to stand in front my garden. Then he said, "Beautiful. Eet's beautiful!" indicating that my yard was looking nice. And I kinda just stood there slack jawed looking at this man who had jumped out his back door to stand in my yard.

Then he jumped back up through the doorway and exited my yard.

It was only then that I recovered my composure enough to reply, "Hey, thanks."

And then I was like, "That man just jumped out of his house, over my flower bed, and onto my lawn. To tell me my yard was looking nice. Jumped out his house. To tell me my yard was beautiful."

Surreal.

In other news. Our new bird has finally gotten his flight feathers in and might I say, he flies like a drunk. He's just made a round about the room and flown himself into a wall, the kitchen stove, and the grates of his cage. Funniest damn thing I ever saw. Poor thing.



9:49 pm - 04.11.04
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers