soapboxdiner


Dooby dooby doo



Hello again, my friend. Oh, I have so much to tell you. I went camping this weekend, baby. Or I tried to. It was beautiful, it was spiritual, it was MOVING. As in, over one quarter of the state from Camano Island to Aberdeen and back again.

I saw the Cascades. I saw the San Juans and took a ferry across to the Olympic pennisula. I saw a seal, a fawn, some grouse eating grass and even eagles! I hiked up nearly vertical trails in the Heart o' the Hills and there left at least one vital organ and some blood. I saw the islands through ocean fog and drew the pungent air in through my mouth. I walked on a sand beach and a rock beach and through the forests around Crescent Lake. I slept in a motel room littered with dried cat poop.

Shhh. That there was a secret. I shudder to admit it, too. If I had not been so exhausted, it would not have happened.

I was also stood up Friday night. She was worn out from her week-long social spree and came home to nap. She called later that night, refreshed, but she does not know, as understanding as I am about it, I'm secretly nursing a serious case of "The fuck? Calling to cancel to much of a strain?"

Yes, by all appearances, the glossy sheen of the LOVE is wearing thin. But I still love her - just not in that way.

I saw The Stalker again last Thursday. It'd been what.. three months or so? He was actually the inspiration for this past weekend - well, minus the cat poop. Monday morning I thanked him for the tip and we played email half the day. Then he called me later last night. He asked if perhaps Steven and I would enjoy joining him and his children up there at Camano again in two weeks. For a long weekend of beach combing and campfire songs.

I'll have to get back to you on that, though. I mean, could we maybe go for a coffee or something first before we spend a weekend cavorting in all of nature's glory? I mean, sure, I like to cavort as much as the next girl... I just like a little running start first, you know?

He said he'd buy us a tent and some sleeping bags though. He's such a naughty gentleman.



6:36 am - 08.05.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers