soapboxdiner


Medical freaks and body snatchers



Do you know just how much trouble I am in at work, darlings? You just don't even know.

So there I was typing a report. The way we do it, see, you have specimen cards with lots of descriptive info on them. Then, we match that info with the dictation tapes. So like I said, there I was, typing a report. The card used the obscure term "periungual" meaning "in proximity to and regarding a (finger/toe)nail". The card also said, "right hallux". This is the part where I got all wiggy. Do you why I got wiggy at right hallux? I'll tell you.

I was absolutely positive that a hallux was an ear.

The hell?

Upon further research, I rediscovered that an *ear* is actually *helix* in medical jargon, whereas a *hallux* is a toe.

Thank fucking GAWD. For a second there, I thought I was typing a report on a freak with a toenail on his ear.

In other news, the body snatchers came and got me again last night. They apparently have become infatuated with WalMart. They seem to have decided the absolute imperative nature of need every household has in the matter of owning a $30 oak veneered bookcase. They made me buy it, the bastards.

You'd think the least they could have done was help me assemble the beast. Damned body snatchers. Never around when you need them.



11:35 am - 03.08.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers