soapboxdiner


The good life



I am sinking into the joy of no responsibility, darlings. I am. It happens each time I find myself with free time in the week. I sleep in late and laze around, doing a lot of nothing and liking it immensely. At least for the first five days or so.

The funny thing is, in the state of perpetual sloth, my mind clears of all those nasty little worries and trivial concerns that I have when I'm busy making a living. The world returns to a state of possibility, where any and everything I want to do and be seems accessible. For instance, take my little 15 x 6 piece of lawn I call a yard. It goes ununsed about 360 days of the year. I've decided that I will return to its glory of yesteryear and dig up all its tired old sod. I will grow in its dirt tomatoes and potatoes and cucumbers and onions. I will grow green leafy things with which I will make salads and soups. My thumbs will be green again, and I will be more self-sufficient. I will enjoy the labor.

At my mother's last night, we played with kaleidoscopes, Steven, Mom and I did. In turns we each got up and danced to the giggles of the observers holding a prism of glass to their eyes. I did the hustle, and Steven laughed and called me a squid. He sat on his tush and raised his arms and legs and looked like a six-headed monster child giving himself a three-armed hug.

Tonight is tax night and I am ecstatic. By Friday I will hopefully have a grand in my pocket. I will not play with the money though. I will use it to pay my bills. The rest will go into a savings account and act as a safety net - a thing I have not had in over a year. I will hug and kiss and tenderly adore my safety net, and am considering buying it some chocolate.

You see, it is a world of possibilities here. I can do whatever I want. Even if that means sitting on the couch watching Judge Judy. However, if I ever sink to watching Judge Judy, I want you all to plan an intervention in my honor and come kick my ass out of its lethargy and waste. Hey, I may like the possibility, but that doesn't mean I have to act on it.



10:41 am - 02.12.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers