soapboxdiner


Cojones on a net



Something fabulous happened today, darlings. Today I finally worked up the courage to tell the Boss (on her first day back from vacation) that QC just isn't where I see myself living forever and ever. For at least a year since my realization, staying in a job that I knew didn't have the future I'd be able to accept and 2.5 years since scoring the gig that has opened up worlds of growth, I've been dreading the moment of truth wherein I'd have to fess up to the Boss. And today I finally did it. I told her.

I half expected, "Well, we'll miss you. See ya." or "There isn't anything else here for you. It's this or nothing." But instead I got, "I totally understand. You're great at training and I really need you, but I know it's . . . wearing. But what about the coursework development you do?"

Well, you see, I love those aspects.

"What do you like about them?"

"I like the puzzle. I like the research. I like finding the answers, breaking them down into their component parts, and then putting them back together in writing in ways that people can easily understand.

"And I know that we're moving into more technically advanced delivery systems that we've always hired consultants to create and manage. With the usage of more technology, we'll eventually require more high-tech administration.

"I know that our production staff are working with aging systems and technology that we pay top-dollar to service. I know that it's inevitable that we'll need to upgrade, and that will involve extensive software retraining. In addition, I know we have a delicate database that we're constantly tweaking.

I love the puzzle, and both of these areas, retraining and IT, suit my interests. I would be happy in either arena, or a combination of the two. It would be the best of both worlds for me, and the Company would benefit as well, as I have specialized user-end knowledge and understanding that outside sources don't have. With technical writing, I could move into marketing or continue with continuing education training/retraining. With IT support I could move into a position to manage some of the systems needs with relatively quick training. Tell me where the need is, and I will do what you need to fill it."

And Boss said, "I'll be sad to see you move out of QC, but let me talk to the CEO. Let me talk with her about her thoughts for the future."

How excellent did that conversation go? I am so stoked now to take the next step. I talked with D00d about the support issues I was worried about, and discovered they were unfounded fears. And I talked with the Boss and learned that they could very well be willing to invest in my advancement.

Time will tell, but I'm so proud of me that I found the cojones to punch my fear in the nose and advocate for my own future -- AND that it was received positively, if tentatively. The world is looking up, up, up right now!



6:25 pm - 07.20.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers