soapboxdiner


The way we were



I am seriously considering moving. Only not really. I mean, when the house sold in February, the Bro asked us to move in. I had serious reservations then, but I figured what the hell. I could pay off some bills, the Bro and SIL would have some financial help through the market depression, and the kiddo would be around people who love him. See, he is VERY social and frankly, I require A LOT of quiet time to myself.

But now things in the house have settled into routine and everyone seems to be taking each other for granted. The domestic temperature is a constant and not-so-balmy degree of irritable.

Bro apparently suffers from undiagnosed and unacknowledged depression, so the rest of us hold our breath waiting for the next explosion. SIL and I used to work out in the mornings and go for power walks after dinner, but Bro has decided that these activities cannot continue. She is HIS wife, by gum, and needs to be at his side on the couch so he can fall asleep with sports on.

Folks, there is only so much hiding a person -- namely me -- can do. I pay nearly $1000/mo for the privilege of living here, and you know, I shouldn't have to hide in my bedroom for fear of being obtrusive in someone else's house. And honestly, I simply do not have any sort of tolerance for unnecessary drama. Like, none.

I'm about to lay down some serious get-your-shit-together on his ass, and the ONLY thing that will accomplish will be getting my not-so-happy ass booted out onto the street.

Fuck.

And you know? I probably knew this would happen. Why do I always talk myself into believing the best will happen?

Oh, well. If I could put up with Mr. T's gambling the mortgage away every month and unerringly badgering and berating me and the kiddo on a daily basis for two years, I suppose I can put up with a grumpy Bro till next year's tax return offers quick and painless relocation.

In other news, dOOd treated me to a side trip to the naughty shop last night before I took him out for dinner. This guy. I tell you. Never in my life have I EVER been in a relationship where the man has said, "You know, you deserve more org@sms. Let's get you hooked up, babe." And today he emailed to tell me how happy he was to see me touch heaven.

Touch heaven. Amazing. What a beautiful way to describe a thing.

Booked the reservations for the vacation tonight, but had to change two of the three campgrounds we'd wanted because they were full. Well, one was full and the other didn't have restrooms. There is only so much nature a girl can accommodate, darlings. Perhaps I can forego a shower for a couple days in the name of roughing it, but digging a potty hole just isn't an acceptable option. Heh. The good news is, that the new arrangement knocked $200 off the bottom line. Color me tickled speechless.

Anyways, off to a book and my cozy bed. I'm working on about 3 hours of sleep, and while I had NO complaints last night playing grown-ups with dOOd, I was definitely dragging ass and eyelids come around noontime. What a delicious way to be tired though, hmm?



9:10 pm - 07.23.08
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers