soapboxdiner


Full Access



Know what's really smart? I shall tell you what is really smart.

Smart is telling your boss the following:

Boss, this Excel/Word system really sucks. The query functionality is buggy and once the spreadsheet accumulates more than 500 records, the mail merge feature starts in with DDE error messages and so Word doesn't recognize the data source. I've tried jimmy rigging it. I have tried deleting all the formulas. I have tried converting the spreadsheet to be DDE compatible. Nothing really fixes it. The system sucks, and it will continue to suck forever and ever. We need Access. Only Access will handle our needs.

Which is excellent advice and very true. And it would be very smart, if I had even just one clue about coding SQL, or had even a smidgeon of knowledge above the most rudimentary basics in setting up a database with reports and queries and combo boxes and auto fill. And I have read of this thing called a "relational" somethingorother - on about three different Access tutorial sites. I still don't get it. I want to get it, but sadly, I am an Access idiot.

And the scary thing? I'm the only one in the office who has ever used it, so therefore and by default, I am the administrator.

Sad sad sad. We are in SO much trouble.



4:17 pm - 04.04.04
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers