soapboxdiner


It's NOT a fight, it's a discussion



Who knew arguments could be so.... sexy?

Not to wear a topic of conversation out or anything, but Dang. Okay?

Of course, that N girl, who I should really find an appropriate privacy protecting pseudonym for, says that we aren't having arguments, what we are actually having are discussions of pertinent issues. Because, you see, we are both strong women in her eyes.

I told her no, that's wasn't it. I told her we were, indeed, arguing, because her vision is deficient - she can't see that I'm always right.

But much headway has been made, and she is very sweet - in that terribly irritating way - in that she is concerned that our (what's that French word? - oh yeah - AFFAIR) will negatively impact Steven.

I shared with her my philosophy. My job as a parent is to prepare Steven for the facts of the world - not shield him from them. My job is to give him the tools he will need to navigate a plethora of different life situations. None of those situations, I hope, entail hiding one's true feelings. Or buckling under societal pressures to conform.

That seemed to have done the trick - though I didn't mention that I found it tiring that she was bringing her issues about being out and open (or not, in the case of her recent exgirlfriend of three years) to my doorstep. I suppose her being concerned that I - The Straight Girl - am not mentally prepared to Stomp Proudly Into Gay-dom is completely understandable. Many more acclimated and situated gay and lesbian peoples are still very homophobic.

But here's the kicker. You see, we've also had many discussions over the issue of how we will be defining our relationship. You see, she is not ready for a relationship, and so therefore she wants to be friends. But she wants privileges, too. This, in my opinion, would qualify me (though in nicer, more PC terms) her Fully Automated Sex Toy that conveniently or not so conveniently goes home when we're done.

Um, professor? I have a problem with that.

I, on the other hand, also want to be friends. I also want privileges. I don't particularly need a committment at this point - nor do I necessarily want one. We aren't even close to that stage yet. BUT, being a one partner at a time person tends to be my modus operandi in such situations. Unlabeled Monogamy Girl, here I am!

She thinks that labeling this as "dating" implies committment, whereas I call "dating" a casual acknowledgment of interest to be explored. She prefers, if forced and called upon, to call what we're doing as "kicking it". I say, same difference if the meat is in the middle, if you follow.

Yes, we can collectively and jointly be called the Dysfunctional Lesbian Dating Duet. We're here til Tuesday, everyone. Second shows on weekends.

p.s. If you come back tomorrow, we'll discuss how my announcement of Friday night's Straight Girl Date with Tupac Eyes went over with the N girl. Episode's ETA, TBA.

BYOB

peace out



6:33 pm - 06.25.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers