soapboxdiner


The B-day/Easter weekend haps



Nothing terribly exciting to report this weekend. Or at least, I don't particularly feel like adding any of what I would normally consider "flair".

Friday I turned 30. The day started terribly depressed in the usual birthday manner - blah blah it's my birthday and I have nothing to show for my life and I live all alone and nobody loves me and I'm a horrible awful person that no one will ever want BLAH FUCKITY BLAH BLAH.

Then I got over it.

Went out with The Bro and his roommates - Doc Maynard's and The Bohemian for those of you to which these things are pertinent and meaningful. Had two strangers hug me and tell me to party til I drop, by which they meant days - weeks even. Had the bartender - a friend of the Bro's - pour me a rum and 7 so strong I couldn't finish it - then watched a local band perform. The lead singer was mildly entertaining in what I would describe as being an random and capricious sort of way; only, he looked as if he had the act down pat. Picture Billy Idol with a patented Ozzy Ozbourne stare doing a nataraja. nataraja Which was all very seductive and compelling for the first song or two, but after that I was pretty much, "Yeah yeah. I get it. You've "transcended" because you're "philosophical" and "untouchable" and "deep" singing songs with titles like "TV Kills Your Mind". -- Whatever dude. You know you live in your mother's basement."

Then I was bored with that scene and we went across the street to the Bo for some hip hop dancing. I spilled my drink on myself and went into the other room, where I commenced drooling over a pair of men I was CONVINCED were my birthday presents, because they were very manly and beautiful and aloof.

Then we went home at 1:30. The most notable portion of the evening happened Saturday morning, when I got up and couldn't find my glasses. They ended up being on the bathroom counter still, where prior to slumber I had apparently decided to place them with large gobs of toothpaste on their lenses.

I think they must have been dirty and in need of a thorough cleaning. I can't be sure of my own alcohol-laden thought processes though, so your guess is probably just as good as mine regarding the whole glasses/toothpaste thing.

Saturday began with the commencement of what I like to call NINE DAYS OF SECRETORY HELL, which has come to quite accurately describe my period. As if a hang over was not enough, I had to have cramps that knotted so hard even my toe knuckles hurt. We were not amused at this event.

Therefore, I made coffee, took three Tylenols, and began to re-paint my kitchen. Supposedly, the Bro had promised to aid in this endeavor as part of the "No! You must come out with us on your birthday" offer. However, he did not arrive to make good on his promise until 5 pm, as he had slept ALL DAMN DAY. Bastard. By the time he got here, I'd applied the requisite three coats of yellow paint to cover the green and the only things remaining were the cabinets and ceiling - of which he fanagled his way out of.

Then we went up to my sister's, watched Celebrity Trading Spaces, and retired. And naturally, today was wraught with egg dying, food eating, and many, many people who I don't know well enough to feel comfortable around. Steven learned to ride his cousin's motorcycle, and then we came home with a bucket full of candy. Much of which I am currently eating.

And that was that. I have a pretty new kitchen that is sunny and bright, despite its layer of inch-deep dust, I'm hung over, menstruating, and near coma from candy. I would love to sleep, but instead I think I will attempt to put my house back in order and finish the two loads of laundry I started a bit ago. You know, one load so I can have clean underwear in the morning, and the other so I can have something to wear over them.

As always, the prospect of these domestic occurrence leaves me breathless and anticipating more, more, more.

Hope you had a good Easter weekend, too.



6:55 pm - 04.20.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers