soapboxdiner


Domestic Tranquilty and other fairy tales



My sister called last night to ask if it would be okay if she hosted the family Easter this year - the one already scheduled to happen at the folks.

You see, her MIL is freaking out, and their VILLAGE of relations are coming down. An excerpt from the convo went something like BLAH BLAH BLAH, Rick and Ruth and their two kids and THEIR three kids and this other in law and spouse and 25 kids and everyone and it will be at my house and I know you don't like them and you don't like my house and mom wants it at her house and my husband got his nipple pierced and mom's house is really smokey and the kids breathe it and they they get sick and my kids and your kid always fight because it's small but Easter is for the children, suffer the little children and there will be lots of kids here, and that will be better. Then we'll have a pot luck and the kids can have hot dogs because none of the kids eat ham and when lots of kids get together, it's better. But if you don't want to, because your car isn't road-trip safe anymore because you've squandered your life and all of your money and I can look down my nose at you, well you can ride with the folks in their truck bed. Or, if mom is too upset, I can bring myself and the two kids in my Cadillac down and we'll have Easter there, like we'd all planned. What do you say?

I say, crap. Why do they always want to put me in the middle of their Who's the Matriarch arguements? It doesn't matter to me one way or the other. She's right, I've avoided going to her house because not once in the eight years I've been here has she come to mine - because she's not "comfortable" here, and when she makes the trip down to visit my mother - who lives three miles from myself - she cannot be bothered to call me so all the kids can see each other and play.

All this makes me feel like I am an unimportant pawn to her. Only good for blocking someone elses plans. I'm tired of being the pawn in that battle.

So, whatever. If it is decided that Easter will be at her house, fine. If not, fine. I'll let them duke that one out themselves - without me in the middle.



6:10 am - 04.17.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers