soapboxdiner


More regarding my garden



I don't think I will be able to move tomorrow, but damn, does my yard look good!

I didn't mention yesterday that the flower box I demolished had about two inches of rock lining it's bottom, for drainage don't you know. After the box was destroyed and its remnants carted away, all that remained was a mess of quarter-sized pebbles in front of my house along with some wayward weeds and moss that lived in the box. Today I decided I would recycle those rocks in the form of ground cover for the "lilac bed". Which really was an excellent way to use them, as they are smooth and pretty when they're wet, and they will help preserve water and reduce weeds in the bed later this summer.

So, out came the bucket of many uses, the spade, and the water hose again. The rocks had to be rinsed clean of all their previous debris before I could even consider using them. This took the better part of the morning spent in quite probably the dirtiest, wettest, heaviest manual labor one lone girl can do. But they are in the bed now, showcasing my hosta, chicks-and-hens, and whatever those bulbs are called that I mistakenly call grape hyancinth every spring. And yes, around the lilac as well. Very pretty.

I also revamped the larger bed, moving and dividing and redesigning the whole thing. It wasn't until the grass in from of it was a soggy, muddy, and most likely deathbed nigh that I got smart and brought out a tarp to protect it. But it, too, looks much better now. I divided the mini irises, hoping that the division would boost blooming this year. I also moved the columbine further into the bed away from the water hose in hopes of protecting their delicate selves from trauma and breakage. Next were the day lillies, which I decided to swap locales with the callas. These were tricky, as they have large root balls that spread like crazy.

Did I mention I can't find my shovel to aid in all this? No? Well, I can't find my shovel. So all this garden de and reconstruction was performed with what? Oh, that's right, ONE MISERLY LITTLE HAND SPADE.

Fortunately though, as soon as all the plants were out of the ground and lying unpretentiously there on the tarp, it started to hail ALL OVER THEM, beating them to a what I hope is somewhere actually shy of pulp.

So I came in and bathed, leaving them under the tarp. Now it's sunny and warm again, and I am clean, but I need to go back out and get all my beauties back in the ground before they dry up and die.

Oh, p.s. Sven hasn't arrived yet. I don't think you people out there are looking for him hard enough. I want to see some phone calls happen people. Get that man over here, ASAP!



5:42 pm - 04.13.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers