soapboxdiner


And....SHE'S OFF!



I've become a woman possessed by the decorating bug. For two days, it has consumed me with selections, with colors, with ideas, with DESIRES! I don't know if my wallet can take much more of this mad fever.

Last night it was back to Ikea. Much hemming, much hawing. I browsed end tables and TV tables and bookshelves and entertainment centers. I browsed lightening, I browsed palm trees! And two hours later, I walked out with everything I'd managed to load the cart with in the first 15 minutes. But that didn't stop me from staying up until 4:30 this morning cleaning, hanging curtains, finding out the curtains have about 4 feet of fabric piled on the floor. Then, once all the pyrex boxes found themselves empty of toys (and children) and placed unlovingly out in the dewy midnight driveway, I realized I have A LOT of empty space in here screaming for the still conspicuous missing end tables, entertainment center, and the much needed second bookcase.

Have I mentioned that since coming back from NC, I've only managed to accummulate one shelf's worth of actual books? No matter. I have videos. I have DVDs and more importantly, I have STUFF. You know, candles and pretties and photos and CRAP that needs to be merchandized, hopefully just a little more attractively that stacked atop each other on the top of the computer hutch.

And if you didn't know this about me, I am very much a classicist. Back in the home school elective interior decorating class days, I would be labeled, "A liker of things formal." Thankfully, I got over that navy blue/burgundy/forest green phase. However, still one of my favorite rooms is the English library full with rich cherry wood and richer red leather.

So, yes. I am most comfortable when surrounded by organization. Symmetry. Coordination. You'd probably never notice, but in the well-oiled wheel of my world, everything has a very specific place it HAS to go. Which in large part feeds these silly NEEDS. My brain picture of the perfect room with not be satisfied until these things are complete.

I should quit when I'm ahead, shouldn't I? Think it will happen?

Me neither. Good thing I have Steven's father around to be bled dry of his hard earned minimum wage, thusly funding my entertainment and redecorating needs. BWAHAHAHAHA. No, I will no longer "count" on his child support for "necessities" - he's unrealiable - as the years of watching the mailbox on the 1st and 15th each month for money that never arrived when it was needed to pay for daycare and gas to get to work proved over, and over, again. I can, however, laugh my ass off at the thought of him washing his dirty socks and underwear in the bathtub and eating government cheese, while I get my groove on buying area rugs.

I might regret being a bitch like that later, but as Scarlet always said, "I'll think of that another day." For now, I have new wall sconces to hang.



8:20 am - 04.05.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers