soapboxdiner


The chair that could not be orphaned



As promised earlier tonight, the continuation of the saga regarding a hussy and her chair:

You know that commercial for Ikea where the little VW bug has like 12 feet of boxes and stuff tied to the top of the car and they ride up and down the hills saying whOOaaWHOaawHooaa?

Yeah, that was me tonight coming home from the store, one chair, two slip covers, six throw pillows, new curtains for two windows, eight glasses, one ribbed cotton throw, four pictures and a lantern later. I couldn't help myself; everything was SO CUTE (um, ohMIgawd!) Not that I broke the bank, mind you. Yes! You, too, can redecorate your living room for under $400.

Of course, now that it's all in and made pretty, I realize how much I REALLY DO NEED that gigantic lidded wicker basket in here. To house all the kids toys in a pretty-type way when he isn't playing with them, don't you know. (not that I hate the stacks of "toy" boxes colorfully decorated with the term *pyrex storage delux set* in my living room or anything) Oh, and I DO SO need that entertainment center. And probably even those super cute tissue paper lamps, or at least new wall sconces to replace the ones dangling from the walls by twist ties. Not that I'm enjoying redecorating at all. Nonono. Don't let the fact that I'm up at midnight writing this entry about all my pretty new stuff fool you.

I really wasn't sure about the colors I chose as I left the store. They're a bit... bright. Red couch, yellow curtains and pillows, fuschia, red and yellow throw. But with the pictures of the pretty gerber daisies now up on the walls, it all comes together nicely in just the playful way I'd hoped.

I'm dancing with happiness at all the new pretties. It's been so long since I've been able to do all the things I've wanted to and had the vision of in my head. I almost feel guilty and overly extravagant with the purchase, but I figure having a home you actually want to come home to, one that you're proud to own... it makes all the difference. So, I'm not letting frugality interfer with the joy I feel.

Now, if only I had a curio for that one corner...



11:40 pm - 04.03.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers