soapboxdiner


Female bonding and stealthy natures of the natural born Huntress



I work in a sororiety house. I've never been partial to the clique-y, catty nature to this type of institution based more on self-impressed superiority rather than sororiety. There always seems to be someone on the outside who's picked on, put down, ostracized and scapegoated. This is how the clique fosters female bonding.

Usually in the world of SBD, the people I feel frustration or dislike or disgust are not the ones the sororiety folk select for multi-directional onslaughts of belittlement. However, I found myself called on my telephone yesterday by the boss. I hadn't even noticed that she had left the office with the other two transcriptionists 20 minutes early. She'd called to invite me down to the cafeteria they'd decided on as they're impromptu meeting place. Why they didn't invite me initially, my first impulse based on the current office climate would be to have someone competent (in their minds however rightfully so) to answer phones and be there to assist in fill in the blank duty required of our staff.

But then I got called down and they were in the midst of a bitch/brainstorm session. One-third of our staff clearly have bullseyes pinned, unwittingly, on their foreheads. There was talk of another meeting in which Reception Girl would be told she sucks followed immediately by a walk down to HR for immediate reassignment. Part Time Girl, the arguementative one who's favorite phrase in the office is, "I won't do it the way you tell me to do it, there has to be a better way," has proven to be tougher to remove from her position. In a stroke of genius, the boss said, "Oh yes, there is a better way," and enlisted the staff supervising physician to assist in reallocating and/or eliminating all the functions Part Time Girl gets paid for. No work, no PTG. You see? There was a better way.

Normally this underhanded display would disgust me. But when PTG started bitching to me one day, saying The Boss was a bitch (true), I told her, "I may be speaking out of turn here, but she has been here a lot of years. She knows what she wants done and how, and aggrevating her probably isn't the wisest way to go about getting your way."

She replied with, "You're right. It's none of your damned business. You have no idea what you're talking about." and walked away.

Why I never was all I could manage to stutter. Contrary to what PTG thinks, I DO know exactly what I'm talking about. I was the brunt of this same form of attack in 1999. But I figured, if the bitch wanted to feel special walking around as a target, God bless her. I told her that because I wanted to help her. But now, I'm just not the one. Let the bitch fry if that's what's she's intent on doing.



6:13 am - 04.03.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers