soapboxdiner


Stating it how it is



Well as you can see, no amount of fun can shake my ill feelings from me, and I have given up on attempting sleep at this juncture. So I got up and wrote a first draft of the letter I will probably be turning into the temp agency and the company. I hate writing letters like this. Despite this being honest to how I feel, owning up to my inability to be Super Human always leaves me feeling like a hopeless failure. But at least I will have given them a head's up, and if I get fired, well, at least then everyone a party to my demise will know I didn't flake out.

Dear Boss, Big Boss, Temp Rep, and Temp Agency Supervisor,

I feel it is my duty to inform you all of my reservations regarding the duties I have been asked to perform for the (Giant Head) account in the upcoming weeks preceding and including the Boss's vacation. Despite diligent time, training and effort on both Boss�s and my part, I would feel remiss if I did not share my serious concerns that I will be unable to competently perform as Acting (Giant Head) Account Manager in her absence.

Under the original contract between (Temp Agency), (the Company), and myself, it was my understanding that my duties were to include performing (Giant Head) returns, (Lesser Head) administrative support, and light data entry-type functions for month-end billing. In regard to the returns, I have successfully completed 25% of all current returns in house following the third quarter release. Many of my suggestions have resulted in the initiation of process improvements which will fully automate the process of tracking and returning product to subscribers, eliminate the costly and inefficient paper trail, speed up return time, and increase efficiency and profitability exponentially. I have successfully maintained all of the daily (Lesser Head) account functions asked of me, and I have written or re-written many of the procedures required for the upcoming ISO implementation.

These are all things I am happy and proud to perform for (the Company). I want you to know that nothing would make me happier than to continue doing them. However, with all respect, I ask that no additional duties for the (Giant Head) account beyond what was agreed to under the original contract be added or expected of me at this time. I feel I would do (the Company) and myself a disservice if I were to suggest or attempt otherwise.

I hope you all understand my position, and it is my sincerest hope that my declination of these additional duties does not create any undue stress or hardship on the company. Please accept my apologies, and know that if this limits my utility and term of contract with (the Company), I will have nothing but feelings of pride and joy that (the Company) gave me the opportunity to be a part of a great team.

Sincerely,

sbd

Is this a graceful suicide or just pathetic? Feedback, please. I promise, I will stop obsessively writing about work really soon. Go back a page or two, there is more entertaining stuff to be found there.



2:18 am - 09.01.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers