soapboxdiner


Thems were the days



Steven got into the bathroom stuff tonight. I keep all my jewelry and "treasures" in the bathroom - don't ask why, I guess that's just always seemed like a good place for little treasures.

He rummaged and found an old watch, a Bulova given to me on my 16th birthday by my first real boyfriend. His name was Ptoui - he was Vietnamese. My sister used to call him Patooee, like she was hawking a loogie. Did you know my sister was the Billings, MT loogie hawking champ of 1981? yeah. Patooee. He ended up marrying my girlfriend's 13 year old sister. Apparently she didn't stand up to him like I did.

Finding that watch brought back all those old boyfriends: Sean aka Tony, first love. Montre, had my same last name and all the stupid high school kids asked if we were married. Lost my undies at his house when I was 17 but we never "did it". Honest. Montre was awfully sweet - he would have done anything to please me. It was a shame, really, that he was so sweet. He ended dating a nasty bitch. When her parents found out about the relationship, she lied and said he'd raped her. He's still in prison. Ruined.

Derek - the "Senior". He was a model. Beautiful specimen of man. The only boyfriend my mother ever let into the house. This was solely because my mother wanted to encourage me to come to my senses and stop dating interracially. He was white. I thought it was just too ironic that he was also the only person I'd ever dated that did cocaine on a regular basis. But in my mother's eyes, he could do no wrong. He ended up dumping me during half-time of the superbowl. Over the phone.

Anyway - thinking about Derek. Funny, funny family. Derek had a brother my age. When Derek went into rehab, brother got a job in a landscaping business. After a year he bought that business and was a business man of means before he'd even gotten to college.

So there was Derek - supermodel gorgeous without a brain cell in his head. And then there was meticulous little brother, business man, shy guy. When he came out of the closet I laughed and laughed. Out of the two brothers, no one expected the construction worker to the gay one.

Stacey was a good Southern boy. Met him when I was waitressing at the drive in. He was in Seahawks training camp. He took me to Denny's and became incensed when no one in the restaurant had ever heard of sweet tea. We walked on the beach and went to the amusement park where centrifugal force got me curious. We went back to his room and soon found out that centrifugal force was a dirty liar. Wethinks Stacey took too many steroids in a past life.

Hank owned his own business as a finish carpenter. Met me at the club the night I found out my man of the moment was still dating his old girlfriend - when he walked into the club with his hands all over her. As I stood in the corner shaking and crying, Hank came over and asked me to dance. We ended up dating for several months. He was perhaps the largest person I've ever met. Samoan and Australian, he was fluid, exotic and poetic. Put me to sleep with the workings of his hands.

Ahh. Good times.

God dating was fun. I think I'll do some more of it someday.



7:45 pm - 11.23.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers