soapboxdiner


Friends don't let friends be asses.



You know what I find overbearing? Inflated egos that broadcast to the world, "I know you think I'm great - fabulous - the epitome of such and such admirable quality. I know you love me unendingly and cannot bear to be without me. I recognize that I have that effect on you and well, frankly I'm going to wield that power over you."

Now don't get me wrong. Confidence in a personal strength is a powerful and beautiful thing to behold. It gets you so much further in life and all that, as compared to being submissive. What I'm saying is, there is a fine line between knowing you yourself are the greatest and matter of factly tossing off references to how much other people think you are the greatest.

Just what and to whom are you trying to sell, my friend? Yourself? Aren't you worth a bit more to yourself than outright selling yourself? Don't you recognize that the power magnifies when it isn't spoonfed with a jack hammer down another's throat? Are you selling yourself to me? Believe me, I already know you're great. That would be why I associate with you. Trust me, the less you make we want to slap a postcard to karma in the post asking for a purifying smiting on your behalf, the more I will attest to your greatness myself.

A person doesn't have to be meek, but ramming a supreme self-aggrandizment upon the masses is a sure-fire path to applause when you ultimately face a foible that demonstrates to everyone that humanity and imperfection are, truly and in fact, common to all.

That's all. But I still love you though. And isn't my love the thing you above all that you wish to garner? Of course it is. Silly of me to question it.



5:33 am - 11.25.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers