soapboxdiner


FBODG and the Hajj



Guess who got her very own new queen sized bed of downy goodness last evening?

ME! Can I get a hallelujah?

It came to me as if in a dream, showing up at my front door quite unexpectedly last evening. I didn't expect it for another two days. It traveled long and far to be with me, all in the hopes that I would soon rest my perfect angelic head upon it pillow pockets of fluffy goodness. It would be a lie if I denied that it's arrival did not stir in me a gentle, cautious euphoria for it as well.

Naturally though, when a fluffy bit of downy goodness travels as far for its owner as my new FBODG has traveled for me, hitchhiking on the backs of Harleys and crowding in to the backs of pickup trucks to laugh and frolic with seasonal workers, the FBODG did not arrive as pristine as it had hoped deep in it's metallic spring and foam cushion heart. I felt for the FBODG. How troubling a thing is it to arrive to your new lover's arms rain-logged and disheveled? A hajj of 400 miles through torrents of rain is apt to leave even the most hearty of pilgrim frayed a bit 'round edges.

And so I whispered into FBODG's eager Don't Rip Me Off Under Penalty of Imprisonment tag, I love you regardless of your wear, FBODG. I will nurture you and recover you. All that water burdening you to the padding, it will dry, dear FBODG. And he sighed.

And sleeping on the couch is a small price to pay in the face of healing a road-weary soul such as this, don't you agree? Even the burden of having a large child wake in the middle of the night from his own twin sized FBODG to come lay atop me on the couch was accepted by my Zen and good graces. All for the love of my very own, new Fluffy Bit of Downy Goodness.

I barely even noticed when I lost all circulation to my limbs.



5:36 am - 10.11.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers