soapboxdiner


Interviews suck



When am I going to get over this feeling of being drained all the damned time? I tell you, it's this bit I have with working. See, if I didn't do that, I could return to my natural Circadian pattern of staying up all night and sleeping till noon. I'm never tired when I can just be au natural. Damned work.

So, the interview. I don't know. I suppose it went well enough. It all started with leaving the house at 6 this morning. One never knows what this commute will be like. Sometimes it takes 30 minutes, sometimes 90. Today, it quite expectedly took 30. Why "expectedly", you ask? Because that left me with over an hour to kill before I could rightly walk into the place and demand to be seen. Do you know what there is to do in this town at 7 am? Nothing unless you like the Early Bird Special at Dennys or shimmying into a leotard to get all sweaty in the Gold's Gym wall o' windows workout room. Ahem.

So I met with the HR woman and the department lead. They limply shook my hand in turn and proceeded to enthrall me with details of the word processing/editing position involving way too many synonyms for the word "dirt".

How are you with tediousness and repetition?, they asked.

I thrive on it, truly.

I'm not sure you understand the degree of pressure you'll be working under. How are you with stress and deadlines?

Stress and deadlines are the elixir that soothes my soul. I love it. Truly. That's from -right here- ladies.

Well, there is one scientist who is very demanding and focused. Her work does not get scheduled or prioritized with the other work, nor does it get distributed through the supervisor. She can be gruff and rude. That is her way of focusing. How are you with rude people?

(This I interpret as meaning, "She's a bitch. If you are hired, you have been duly warned and will be expected to be unquestioningly thankful that she is a bitch.")

Are you trying to get me to leave right now? Look, I've worked with pathologists, endocrinologists, hematologists, and oncologists - all of whose subject matter dealt with telling people they could very well die any day. I've worked with forensic pathologists and anthropologists whose written word that I have set to paper meant life, death or imprisonment. Murder investigations have hinged on the accuracy of what I have touched. State crime labs have called me to discuss findings. I've shook hands with Prosecuting Attorneys and provided detailed discriptions of rape, stabbings, beatings, gunshot wounds, suicides, overdoses and the list goes on. Trust me when I say, I have known stressful work environments. I have known professionals who have maintained strict disciplines and focus. I am more than accustomed to the hazards of the trade.

Oh, well this isn't anything like that. But are you okay with technical terms?

Gah! They apparently still did not know who they were talking to. So I showed them the book I edited. They were dutifully impressed and showed it with the comment, I see you have worked on extensive projects. Not quite on the same level as what we do though.

Nice. Is not Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and it's effects significant enough for you?

At that point, the HR woman (who is rather gruff in her own right) asked me what I hope to make. I left my last position at X dollars. I would like to stay in that range.

But it says here that you are okay with X minus 5K annually.

I would like a median wage if it's all the same. I will go no lower than X minus 3. (Damned preformatted form that didn't allow me to enter my own wage range. I knew I should have quoted higher.)

And on and on. I tested. I listened. I talked. I left.

HR lady - have I mentioned she's a tad too "I demand immediate gratification and compliance from you"? Yeah, she called me later and left a voicemail, I know you are working under the constrictions of the your current assignment, but we'd like you to come back in to meet the staff. To match personalities and such.

I tried her back to explain that current contract being as it is, and that I am the sole secretary in the office, I cannot simply drop everything at her whim. Is it possible to do a conference call?

No, that's not acceptable. You must come in right away - Monday afternoon.

Again, and with the expectation she has that her wishes be met unwaivering not to be lost on moi... I got the time off. I will go and meet the gruff HR lady, the gruffer scientist, and the staff.

Barrel o' laughs, yes?

I don't know. I'll have to see how it vibes on Monday. This may not be the perfect job I'd hoped it would be.



5:13 pm - 10.04.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers