soapboxdiner


a trite dedication to my friends



To all my friends out there going through their trying times, I just have to say, Man... I feel you.

Nothing I could say could ease what you have on your plate. Nothing I have to offer can make your situations better. All I have is my understanding and some experience with what you - all of you - are feeling.

And maybe I'm not the most inspirational person. Maybe I'm not the most successful, or cheerful, or wealthy or wise, but I know where you all are at. Dejected, disappointed, hurt, worried and lonely.

All I can say - all that experience has taught me is this: The world is as it is. I (and you) am (are) as I am (you are). Nothing will change that. Hard work will improve it, maybe. Prayer may blanket it in hopefulness, maybe. But at the end, none of the worrying or stress is worth an ounce and only sucks you dry. Situations are as they are, and your choices are to accept them or to move out of those situations to find new and hopefully better ones - even if that move is an inperceivable mental one. But the sky will not fall if life presents hardship. Nor should any of us allow it to be draining.

All in all, I guess what I'm trying to say is this: Better things in our lives are much more worthy of our attention. Fix what ails, but don't steep in worry or regret. I - of all people - know this... and I - of all people - try every day to make it a reality to hope for and aspire towards. Hold to the happy times, places, things and people. Don't let it wear you down.



6:29 pm - 09.13.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers