soapboxdiner


Bardo this



Please forgive the crotchety nature of the last entry. Written in early morning haste of the getting-ready-for-work program. Not meant to sound nearly as anti-fun as it did. More to bemoan and grumble about the school district's poor choices.

Last year, the big thing they were "selling" was computer software and a text book to prepare children for first grade. Albeit a GREAT educational tool that I fully support - to the point of having purchased many of the program's other software sets from legitimate retailers. It's more the fact that they don't just pass a flyer notifying parents of the availability; they HANDED OUT the products to the children without notice and then said, "If you like it, keep it! If not, tell your children you suck and they can't have this really entertaining thing they already have in their possession but can't keep unless you fork over $60 right now."

I'm sorry, but I have a budget here. I can't just be handing out my money without budgeting and well, they left me with two very poor options - 1) Being turned into a bad guy in my child's eyes, and 2) sacrificing paying a monthly bill that I really couldn't afford to be deliquent on.

And it sucks that the school puts less-than-wealthy parents in that position.

This is the same thing - the school making my child offers to spend my money without consulting me. Not right, dear readers.

Anyhoo. Moving on.

I'm on an independent study kick at the moment. Get this: mysticism and mythology. Where it isn't doctorate level by any stretch, last night I did spend some extensive time moving from reading up on astral planes and such, on to personal auras. I believe there is something there, perhaps not to the extent the authors attest in regard to psychic healing and whatnot, but still, I absolutely believe there is karma and intuition. AND strengthening conscious perception of both for life enrichment. I did the exercises on changing visual focus to prepare for attaining aural vision. Actually succeeded in making the two circles merge into one. This, to comingle and merge brain hemispheric dominance from unilateral perception to holistic vision. It was hard! Can't say I believe it to be more than a parlor trick though. Still, it was stimulating, relaxing, and concentration-strengthening all at the same time.

Tonight I'll probably do some more of that in between reading up on some Mesopotamian, Nordic, or Celtic mythology. Always had a fascination with them but haven't spent nearly enough energy pursuing them. I've started a reading list on the Links page if you're interested. And if anyone has any suggested readings on the topics, definitely let me know.

Alrighty then. I supposed that enough imposed weirdness for one night.

I'll catch y'all on the flip side of the Clear Light. Don't let the Bardo kick you on the ass on your way out.



6:48 pm - 09.12.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers