soapboxdiner


Regarding my window, some plants and a park



And the day got better and better. God it was beautiful day.

Shortly before we'd planned to leave on our expedition to the home improvement center, The Bro called to chat me up. We gossiped and giggled and then he met us at the place, where we went a little loco and bought caulking and plants.

Excitement contained, we returned to my house. I convinced The Bro to help fix my leaky window. My help on the project consisted of me going out into the yard with a spoon to plant my planters. Y'see, I seem to have lost my spade.

But they look truly lovely, the planters do. Tahiti double daffodils They are filled with some double daffodils; deep blue and pale pink hyacinths; and magenta, yellow, and violet pansies. It looks quite lovely. If I had a digital camera, I would show you. But as I don't, you'll just have to trust that I'm not feeding you a bunch of fertilizer.

The day still young, I took Steven, Bob and Betty (the imaginary friend and his mother) to McDonalds and the beach park for a picnic, a walk, and some jolly good times at the brand new playground - which since being renovated is a little like Park-topia, where any and everything a child might like to play on or with is within reach. The highlight plaything was a one-seater teeter totter that looked like it belonged more in a gym's upper body equipment section than in a park. Steven pulled down on it's bar and fell completely out of his seat when he saw the "big muscles" the resistance gave him. Eh. I was more partial to the hangy toy that you grabbed from overhead and pushed off with your feet. The wheels in the handlebar rolled you down about 20 feet, hanging by your hands. Boyohboyohboy, I could play on that thing for ages! At least five or ten minutes.

And so, the day was a success - repaired window, new plants, new toys at the park, and now a dinner of breakfast sausage and Granny Smiths with havarti.

Oh! and today I also discovered that I am a complete knob. This discovery was by way of my couch, whose slip cover is so craftily disguised that I didn't even know it was a slip cover until I was yanking on the fitted upholestry and heard the familiar rip of velcro.

Sneaky.



5:31 pm - 02.23.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers