soapboxdiner


Quiet please. I'm studying.



It's a beautiful day again here on the Seattle front. Upon taking Steven to his first day back from mid-winter break this morning, I caught a breath-taking view of the Olympic Mountains off Lake Washington. Funny how close they always look on clear days like today. I'm always tempted to drive really fast off the top of a hill and just fly - Eval Kaneeval-style (spelling? whatever) across to the other side and the mountains.

Fortunately, my grasp on reality always returns before I actually plummet to my death.

But despite the gorgeous day, I am closeted away here at home, boning up on my medical (specifically pathology) terminology, and waiting for a phone call from New/Old Boss. How oh how I want to be out at a cafe doing this mind-bending stuff. Probably a good thing I'm not though, as I would most likely take an eyeball break to look over at those mountains shiny off the lake and then wake up out of fantasy a gazillion hours later, having accomplished nothing.

I'm still excited about this job. Funny, because the memory of working at this hospital has always felt like home. I look forward to returning to it, and all the familiar sights and sounds and people and places I used to love. In the neighborhood, there are historic mansions to walk to with cobbled streets and wraught iron hitching posts. There are exotic and trendy shops to browse. There are these gorgeous parks with trees that filter the sun and shade the streets, half-hidden behind urban garden walls.

The work? Well, I suppose it will all come back to me. It's mundane and redundant, but it's always there so at least I won't be idle. And there is always the crew, who are witty and charming and interesting in their own rights. One is a glass-blower on the side and makes exquisite jewelry. One is shy and gentle and sweet and studying for her Masters. Others are funny and exuberant and jovial. All together, they are a great bunch who I've missed seeing every day.

A good thing is, the work load hasn't increased over much - still roughly 200 reports get generated a day. But whereas it used to happen with 6 doctors and 2 transcriptionists, the work load is now divided among 9 doctors and 3 transcriptionists. So hopefully that balls to the wall frantic feeling of missing deadlines won't be as nerve-wracking as before.

Okay. I suppose that's enough slacking. I really do need to get back to studying. It's been 3 - 3 � years since I've worked in surgical/anatomic pathology and I'm afraid my memory has gone a bit blurry.



10:51 am - 02.24.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers