soapboxdiner


Would you like shingles on that?



Just got off the phone with the temp agency, who have come through yet again with an assignment starting Monday (crosses fingers) Thank GAWD.

Nothing spectacular or long-term, just some data entry type stuff. But I'm gonna take it, if not for money - just to get out of this house. I am going crazy stir-crazy looking at these walls.

As is probably self-evident by the monotone nature of this entry. bored bored bored. The most interesting thing on the agenda right now is fixing my leaking window this weekend. Seems the window installer (that would be the "why do something right when half-ass works ghetto fine" Step Dad) didn't properly seal one of the new windows. It has been raining for a week so, gotta wait for the walls to dry out before we fix it or else the wood in the walls will rot.

It's raining in my house, y'all, and I have tin foil affixed to the gutters and window as I speak. Oh yeah. It probably doesn't get much more ghetto than that.

Here's a funny to illustrate The Half-Ass Step Dad Philosophy:

So there I was over at the folks' last night, reminding SD about the window. He doesn't say anything and we go back to watching The Rhinestone Cowboy or similar horrifying thing. A couple minutes later he says, "You still have shingles at your house from when we built the shed?"

"Gee, I don't know. Maybe in the shed. You'd know better than me, as you've never given me a key to the thing."

"Well, maybe we can fix your window with some shingles. We could staple them to the aluminum siding."

Oh, the horror.

"Look, if its a matter of money, I will happily buy some flashing and some all-weather calking. I really don't want anyone stapling freaking shingles to the side of my house."

"What? Shingles would work fine."

"Do I need to call a professional here? Cuz I will, you know. Don't tempt me."

"Fine. I'll fix it right this weekend."

Thank you.

That's all I need. Freaking shingles stapled to the side of the trailer. Gawd. And yup. This is my head shaking from side to side in utter disbelief.

Okay. That's enough fun for today from this side of the monitor. I think I'll go to the mall and walk around. I think I'll wear big hair and clam-diggers. I revel in the white trash in me.



12:44 pm - 02.20.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers