soapboxdiner


Cheesy is as cheesy does



Yo, babies. How you is?

So, totally avoiding the whole finishing up Christmas thing this year. You see, have I told you about the four-generation family cookbook I've been writing up for the parst, oh, four months? Yeah, totally not nearly as in love with it as I was in October. The good news though? I've got 50 pages down and only about 5 to go, then I can do the edit and print/collate!!

Yeah, me too.

By the way, have I told you how much I heart Grammar Girl? She's a goddess, except when she places a comma after the word And. And, (note misplaced comma) that drives me nuts.

Good for her though for doing such a good job in the face of constant critical feedback. People get so balled up about their diction, yo.

Anyways and in other news. Remember when I wasn't sure if I should hang out with Co-Worker on a social level? So we did the class thing and it was fun-ish. But then she started bombarding me with a big old bitch-fest on ye olde office email account. WTF is that?

See, I have a rule(-ish). Perhaps you may be familiar with it, being immersed in the blogosphere? Or maybe you know it by way of watching congressmen and Tiger Woods on the news: Don't put your trash talking dirty laundry into writing in a way that is easily identifiable and/or could be made public in detrimental ways. Just don't do it. Not on a plane, not on a bus. Don't do it at all if you don't want a fuss.

So here she is, bagging to me about our Boss, her other coworkers, the people I'm in charge of evaluating and providing assistance to. Like, what am I really supposed to say to her via email, "Yeah, so-and-so is an idiot!" so she can broadcast it to that person the next time she decides to get all nasty? No thanks.

The latest occurrence of the e-mail bomb:

From: Co-Worker
To: SBD

So I noticed Girl I Don't Like cleaned out her cubicle and moved into the office next to you. Besides chewing her gum annoyingly loudly (note: they sit on opposite sides of the office about 50 feet away from each other), why does she get special treatment, and what do the rest of us have to do to get it, too?


So after serious deliberation, I shared:

From: SBD
To: Co-Worker

Girl You Don't Like was just diagnosed with cancer. She was given an office so she could have privacy while she works through this difficult time and through her post-surgical treatment.

Did it prompt an, "Oh, I'm such an asshole! How terrible!" you might wonder and maybe expect from any person containing even an infinitesimal amount of a soul within her being? If you're at all like me, you just might. 'Cuz I thought that was perhaps the rudest, most insensitive, soulless, retarded and potentially even evil thing I've ever heard.

Her response?

From: Co-Worker
To: SBD

Oh. Well, naturally that's too bad, but I still think it's wrong that she gets special treatment.


And that, dear reader, is when I lost all respect for Co-Worker. The End.

I leave you now with the recipe for quite possibly most delicious thing you will ever put in your mouth:



Pumpkin Cheesecake
16 oz. cream cheese
2/3 C sugar
� tsp. cinnamon
� t ginger
1/8 tsp. cloves
� C pumpkin puree
4 eggs
� C heavy cream
3 oz. semisweet chocolate, optional
� C heavy cream, optional with chocolate

Crust:
� C cinnamon graham cracker crumbs
3 Tbsp. brown sugar
3 Tbsp. melted butter

Whip cream cheese and pumpkin. Add sugar and spices. Add eggs one at a time. Add first � C of heavy cream.

Mix graham cracker crumbs, brown sugar and melted butter together to make the crust. Press crust firmly into baking pan. Pour cheesecake mix over crust. If desired, bring second � C heavy cream to a boil and pour over chocolate to melt. Swirl chocolate and cream into mix of ingredients above. Bake at 275 for 60 minutes.

Optional:
For 10 inch cheesecake, double ingredients.



7:47 pm - 12.10.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers