soapboxdiner


Tick tock time



I just wanted to say big thanks you the cool kids who left me messages today re: the new design. You are the best. And special mad props to Kimbarley, who is funny and sweet and soon to be representing the west coast too, who took the time to test the new design in a gazillion different browsers and operating systems for me.

So, thank you all. Muchos besos, mijas.

In other news... I have nothing in particular to report. I wish I did. I mean, I kinda do and I want to document it, but... I don't know. I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings or make them feel like I've violated their privacy. This site isn't as IRL private as it used to be. Maybe I will just continue to write about it and save it to the private folder. So many mixed up things swirling around my brain, you know?

Anyways.

So, have I mentioned that I've recently celebrated my one year rehire anniversary? Kind of amazing. It doesn't feel like that long, but then again if feels like it has been forever. I'm waiting now though - on so many things. I want Busy Body Coworker to just go away. And she will, in about another year. The thing with her is, owing to her seniority, she's the lead secretary/transcriptionist. Except she's one of those people who should never have power bestowed upon them, as they use it as a weapon. Without fail and without respite she rides me about everything. Have I gone to lunch yet, am I going to do ___X___ and when? Why am I doing such and so and by whose authority. No, you cannot have access to the IBM spellcheck feature to correct a misspelling in the dictionary. Give it to me or the boss with the documented correction and we will verify it and make any correction we deem appopriate. It all makes me want to sock her one in her slack-jawed, cud-for-gum chewing pie hole.

What's funny is, in the year I've been there, I have created forms and spreadsheets and databases that have shaved production times by 50%. Cost-wise, I saved the department over $15,000/yr in paid work hours in 2003, just from July-December. I have trained every single person in this department on everything from adding custom dictionaries to Word (custom dictionaries that I purchased with my own money and shared with them for free) to how to generate reports from macros. Sorting. Queries. I mean everything. I opened a Fed Ex account online and taught them all who to use it.

And despite all that I have contributed over and above the duties listed in my job description, I am treated with suspicion and am micromanaged as if I require constant external structuring and supervision lest I not be a productive and trustworthy member of the team.

I would say it makes me mad, but more it just hurts my feelings. I work my ass off to try and make things better for the team. I just cannot see where the suspicion comes from.

Anyway. At least I get a raise, right? Well, no. I don't. Bonus for saving the department nearly one full employee's annual salary? Nope.

Sigh.

Well, the 3% COLA increase will be nice. All $50/month of it. Which should almost cover the insurance premium hike imposed this year. Almost.

But I digress. It was beautiful today and the sun was all sunny. I got to wear sandals and capris. Steven and I had a day on the waterfront this past weekend and browsed the shops and visited the aquarium and ate ice cream while the peace rally marched by holding up signs declaring Bush as the only WMD to be found. The sky was clear and we could see the full range of the Olympic mountains spread out to the west beyond the Sound, as well as the Cascades to the northeast across Lake Washington and Mt. Rainier to the south from both vantage points. The sun cast long beams of twilight across the water and the horizon glowed pink behind the mountains. To say gorgeous would not do it justice.

Now how can a person be mad and upset and angry on beautiful days like that?



8:38 pm - 03.22.04
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers