soapboxdiner


Don't let the titles fool you



I hadn't seen him since the week before Thanksgiving, and honestly? His absence did not feel like a huge gaping hole of loss.

Remember how excited I felt upon meeting him? Remember all the entries about his smile and his eyes and gosh he was cute and I could eat him with a spoon? Yeah. I mean, he's still kinda edible - sort of.

But when I saw him Friday from a block away? And I groaned out loud and said to myself, "Oh great. This is going to be awkward." And then the block was closed and he smiled that toothy white gorgeous smile and we stood there filling in the silences with unimportant things neither of us cared about? It Just Wasn't There.

At least for me it wasn't.

When he rubbed my arm in that friendly Hey. How you been? way and then sexily extended his hand between my breasts and caressed my work badge (all the better to remember what the hell my name was)? It Just Wasn't There.

Busy Body Coworker, later that day, said, "Maybe I should mention him more often, seeing as every time I bring him up, you see him."

And I was like, "Eh. That's okay - you REALLY don't need to do that anymore. Who wants to date a 30something woman whose entire life and conversation skills revolve around her kid?"

But later I amended that by telling myself, "I don't want to date ANYONE whose very presence makes me question my own ultimate coolness like that. He's fast, anyway."

And if there is one thing I am not, it is fast, darlings. Or at least that's all about me anyone besides me needs to think they know.



6:24 am - 12.22.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers