soapboxdiner


Germs, pizza, pot, and moving. You'd think it would be interesting, eh?



We're on day two of the kid being home sick. Monday I sent him to school, which was probably a mistake. He told me he wasn't feeling well. But did I listen when he said his "neck" hurt?

HA!

I told him to show me his tonsils. As revenge for my questioning the veracity of his sickness, he hacked a HUGE cough in my face. After I wiped the oogy spray off my face, I told him he was fine for school. Huzzah!

Tuesday rolls around and I can't wake him. I finally get him up and take his temp - 103.6. Impressive.

So we stayed home. I called the boss and she said, No no. You stay home. Sure, we're down two people and the other two staffers are dying of the flu, but they came in, so you just go ahead and stay home.

Lovely.

It is now Wednesday, and after a night of one sleepless child, two episodes of vomitting, and a 6 am phone call from the selfsame boss telling me, "Really, don't worry about us. You just get the kid healthy and take care of yourself - don't you get sick," I sit here unable to breathe through the sinus congestion and itchy beginnings of a sore throat.

Damn coughing child giving his nursemaiding mother his germs!

Oh, and did you know? Monday, some of the techs in the department threw us ("Us" being the office staff) a Mad Pizza pizza party. MMMMM. But better than the pizza? The stories of the pluses and minuses of growing pot in Hawaii versus Alaska. HAHAHAHAHA!!! You'd really never guess that about Tech Girl... or would you?

After the party, Coworker said, "Can I tell you a secret?"

"Sure," says I.

"I'm moving back to the A-K in February."

"Noooo! You can't!" ... "Well, okay. I guess you can. I'm just sad for me. But happy for you!"

"Yeah, I've got a job lined up, a huge house on almost four acres lined up (etc etc)"

"That's wonderful! Have you told Boss?"

"Nah. I'm thinking I'll give her four weeks notice, because the turn-over in this office is horrible and lord knows, going through the hiring process is not her best skill."

You can say that again, sister.

Damn I'm gonna miss this girl.



9:36 am - 12.10.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers