soapboxdiner


Finality aint no friend of mine



On my desk at work this morning, waiting for my arrival, a book I loned out. On a post-it note attached to the book, this message:

Carla,
Thanks for the book. Sorry it took me so long to get it back to you.
-N

And then it all seemed so... final.

Silly of me to attach that level of sentimentality to a book I've read at least 5 times, no?

It's just, I kind of pictured this scenario, see. Me and her sitting in my living room with freshly mixed and tastily chilled beverages in hand, talking about the book's respective relativity to our own experiences. You know, just a deeply revealing talk about what makes her and I up. Because having a running catalog of knowledge in the back of my head is one of the ways I say, "Love ya there, dude(ette)."

Bah. Running catalogs of insight and mentally pictured scenarios that outlive their portability.



10:19 pm - 11.17.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers