soapboxdiner


Amusing



I have been amused with the prospect and possibility of telling you about our fine Catholic Seattlites' tithing dollars hard at work in the form of a glorious historic mansion with marble entry ways, leaded glass windows, Arabesque arches with the onion dome shapes cut in, and a lovely tin roof green with a patina of tarnish (which does not sound at all quaint or pretty as it properly should). You know, a mansion with a mother-in-law apartment over the stables-turned garage, and grounds people who come by twice a week despite the fact that the only evidence that someone actually lives in the place are the high-end SUVs parked in the back.

I was amused at the prospect that the mansion is rumored to the residence of the Archibisop of Seattle, whom I would have to assume took a vow of poverty just like every other Father Schmoe living dorm-style with a generous 9 x 9 space all his own.

Lord help me, but that place is beautiful. But isn't it funny, here I am with caviar tastes living in an aluminum-enshrined shack, when Archi is over there living large at the mansion he probably gets for free as a perk on account of his holiness and stuff?

That's it. I'm getting holy.

In other news, my car is buried under at least an inch of frost currently, and tonight is night one of swimming lessons for the kid. Brrrr. This swimming lessons in winter was good thinking on somebody's part.

In other, other news, I hate my job and everything it stands for. Thank goodness they held a Staff Appreciation banquet-thingy for all the staff. Only, they didn't post the announcement anywhere, so only those in the know knew about it. Yay! Costco muffins and a bottle of water for everyone! (But only if you're in the know)

Another thing - I left this hospital in early 2000. They did not have bonuses in the three years I was there. In 2001 and 2002, the company gave the staff in my department $1000 bonuses around Christmas. I'm back now in 2003, and we have all been informed that there will be no more bonuses for the staff.

Say what you will but by damn, I just KNOW it's a conspiracy. It is. Can't fool me, ya bastards.

I'm nearly incoherent with the sleepy right now. I want to go back to bed...



6:02 am - 11.13.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers