soapboxdiner


I feel all smooth and smart and stuff



I love it when I make myself feel all smart and stuff by figuring out a solution to something tricky.

Take, for example, what I figured out tonight. I've desperately been trying to figure out a formula to tally all slides (and stuff) we receive plus all slides (and stuff) we send out each month. This being for monthly workflow reports and such. Sure, since I created the speadsheet log back in July, it's been a lot easier to figure, but man do I hate the Data>Sort>add 10 different columns for the incoming date column and 10 more for the outgoing date column - especially when I'm using Excel, which Mr. Gates basically created for just this sort of math-type stuff. It's a waste of my 30 minutes a month, you know?

But tonight... tonight I figured out how to carry a MM/DD/YY date from one cell over into MM format in another cell, which then allows the program to find all the current month's incoming and outgoing slides (and stuff) and adds only those numbers! It keeps a running tally at the top of the spreadsheet, so I will never have to do it manually ever, ever again! Yay for figuring out formulas! Isn't that exciting?

Er, yeah. Probably more meaningful for me than you, but dang if it doesn't give me a warm fuzzy to eliminate "any dummy could do it" work from my schedule.

And that is really all at this juncture. At last razors have been purchased AND utilized, so I think I'll be off to enjoy the "baby's bottom" smoothness of my underarms. I'm all about the love, you see.



9:09 pm - 11.03.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers