soapboxdiner


Strangers in the night...



When I was a young woman newly out on my own, I used to HATE being alone at night. There were always all these noises happening - creaks and twirps and houses settling and they scared me, dammit. I'd lie there awake and try to discern what the noises were - is that the front door? what's scraping on the window; it is a boogie come to get me?

Completely irrational, but it often kept me up all night. That's probably a big part of why I started working graveyard shift. Sleeping in the daytime felt so much more safe, you know?

For the last week, at roughly 11-12, something has been making scary noises that really wig me. Something on my patio that sounds like something heavy and made of metal being scraped along the concrete. Then banging and more dragging. Then weird "something on the front steps" noises.

When I work up the courage to look out the window at the Medusa making the racket, there is nothing there. But then I crawl back into bed and stare up at the ceiling, and it all starts again.

I'm most terrified, darlings. I don't like bumps in the night.



6:33 am - 10.08.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers