soapboxdiner


Out of the mouths of babes



Today, the phone at work rang. Sure, it does this dang near everyday, but today the ring was special.

I answered the phone, "Office, thisusesbedee." Like always. On the other end, I heard some high pitched heavy breathing and there was a pause... a long pause. And then, a small wee voice I could not place said, "Wahwahwaaahwahwahh?" Like the grown ups on Charlie Brown.

Ahhh. This is just a little person. We must talk just a bit slower and raise our voices to little people. You know, to subconsciously encourage them to do the same.

"Hello? Honey, who do you want to talk to, sweetie?"

*BreatheBREETHE* "Is my daddy there?"

"Honey, who's your daddy?"

*BREATHEEEE BREATTTHEEE*

"Who dear? Who's your daddy? Come on, baby, it's okay. Tell me who your daddy is."

*BREAAAAATTTTHHHHEEEEE*

"WHO'S YOUR DADDY!?!"

And then I realized what I was yelling into the phone at work. So I went into the lab and told Nora and the girls. Then we chuckled. Heartily.



6:45 pm - 05.28.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers