soapboxdiner


Germ bubbles and dangly bits



Exciting day today, kiddos. Today was "temp agency class and paper signing day". Yeah, for the next couple of weeks, I'm still a temp. But just for kicks, I got to get quizzed today on the glories of 1. Bloodborne Pathogens and 2. TB and AIDS. I hope I passed.

Tomorrow promises to be even more exciting. The company is treating me to a couple of booster shots and a TB skin test. This is the test where the nurse doesn't just poke you with a sharp stick, but she does it over and over again, depositing TB juice right under your skin until she produces a big germ juice bubble. Fun times! And just think, I get to do it once a year from now until I don't work there anymore!

Other than that, the high point of my day involved inheriting "the good chair" from the part time girl. The Boss assured me that as I am now Transcription Girl, Part Time Girl has to give me anything I want. Apparently that means even the 5 star cush chair with all the bells and whistles. I vaguely felt like The Usurper as I wheeled the cadillac of office furniture over to my side of the cube. But then I got over it.

Oh! Did you know that at The Hospital, that if you did a job four years ago, that means you Know Everything There Is To Know, and that you don't need any training? Uh huh. Because in all the intervening time, nothing else superceded this knowledge in my brain. Talk about bashing your head against bricks.

But J told D (J and D being the other transcriptionists) "Wow, you and I kicked ass today, D!" Then she noticed that I overheard and so she said, "Oh, you did too, SBD." Nothing like well-meaning but misplaced condescension to foster the love, baby. I just smiled and thanked her for including me. But really, who was she trying to fool? I am New Girl. I really don't have the Kick Ass juice back. Not quite just yet, anyway. See me in a week or two. Then we can talk about how much I rock.

Today I typed a report for a guy who had his privates cut all the way off because he had cancer in his dangly bits. Man, I'm really glad I'm not that guy. How much would that suck?



7:44 pm - 02.27.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers