soapboxdiner


high times at the hospital



Yup. It was a day. I suppose it was nice, though. It was a first day back in an office. New people and old friends. So much unspoken politics going on. The undercurrents were nearly enough to carry you away and bash you against the pilings.

Dan asked me today if, since I wasn't really NEW new, if he could dispense with the usual two weeks of gentle treatment. I told him he better.

Nora and Mareesa did a dance in my honor. They were genuinely happy to see me again. "Yay! Carla's back! We're so happy there's someone cool back in the office again." They are urban bowlers and immunocytochemistry techs. They rock. Nora is absolutely beautiful in an nubian/amazonian way. She's hugely muscular and tall and intimidating for the unfamiliar, but for me, all I saw were the dimpled cheeky smiles when she came in and clapped at my return.

I really really really like Nora.

Here's a funny, though. I used to think she had a crush on me. Back in the day, she used to give me "looks" and would invite me bowling with her - with "the look". Hey, I may not be getting any action, but I DO recognize "the look" when I get it.

The weird thing about it is, I am shockingly hetero. But Nora sure is attractive. I'd probably do her, if the prospect of taking what goes on in my brain out of the mental closet didn't weird me out.

I wouldn't be opposed to an evening's worth of bowling though. She's a fun kinda chick with awesome energy, and I like fun chicks with awesome energy.

KJ and I spent all afternoon gossiping. She's the lady who I'm replacing. She's also the one I mentioned before who is shy and sweet and gentle who's going for her Master's. All day she was telling me about how great I am and how happy I've made everyone. I think I'd keep her forever, if she'd let me. Who doesn't love steady streams of positive reinforcement on their first day back at a job? She shared with me on break that she's been *shhh! this is just between you and I* written up by The Boss. As it turns out, The Boss is a main reason why she is leaving the hospital about almost 13 years of service.

Are you thinking what I'm thinking? I sure hope you are.

But one of the first things Nora and Mareesa said to me was, "Take everything with a grain of salt. *simultaneous whistle sounds and hand gestures over the top of heads.*"

This does not reassure me that things have changed. I count myself lucky though that I've been brought back into the inner circle on the first day. Hey, if you can't beat them, at least talk a lot of shit and get it off your chest.

Oh, and I would also like to mention that for my first day back as a transcriptionist, after over two years of promising I'd never do this kind of work again, I managed to kick out exactly SIX LINES of dictation. That is an all-time low, people. Even for me. God I hope they don't realize I suck and fire my sorry ass just before I get used to making big bucks.

You'd probably see one really pissed off SBD. Anyway, overall accessment of the day? Very Very Good. No one even made fun of my hyena hair. Well, Dr. D did, but he's so diplomatic, no one knows he's taking a jab until he's done gone back to work. I really admire that quality in the man. I think he is my hero.



6:41 pm - 02.26.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers