soapboxdiner


You should be so lucky



Today was the oddest day. One contact lens fell out while driving into work this mornign. Have you ever driven with one eye 20/20 and the other 20/400? In rain and fog before dawn? Now there is a trick worth trying at least once in your life.

It fell out again a block from work, then ripped in half when I cleaned it. I lasted a grand 30 minutes at work before nausea and the headache got me. Do you know what that means? Do you?

A day off of work!!!

Oh, and the hormones causing that wonderful perky firmness of my breasts has finally given way to some lovely cramping/bleeding action. Blech. I'd be happy to succumb to this monthly duty, if only I didn't get cramps down to my knees. At least it happened on the day I got to wear comfy fuzzy jamma pants. I love comfy jammie pants.

The day off also gave me the opportunity to pick of some fine reading at the library (which in case you don't live in Seattle) that rarely has the book you most want in stock at the branch most convenient. So, the afternoon was spent travelling 30 miles to beautiful downtown Covington, WA to pick up The Girl in the Flammable Skirt.

Back in town, it was off to the school to fill out the financial decs for Steven's school lunch program - again. Filled that out on the 6th, but it seems the school lost the form somewhere between the office and the lunch room. So, taking time off work to go back in today, only to here, "Gee, I remember you filling this out a couple weeks ago," while cramping and crabby, left me less than cordial with the receptionist. Who loses a form that they only have to be responsible for for five minutes and 50 feet?

I did get a chance to confer with Steven's teacher again regarding the whole Bad Ass Child thing again. Seems he won't sit still in class unless the teacher rests her hand on his shoulder the whole day. We have set up a comprehensive plan for reward and discipline including him calling me to explain himself the very next time he goes to the office for wandering around aimlessly in class.

But he did stay on "green" today, which meant he got new videos from the library (Mythical Horses and The Making of Mankind narrated by Richard Leakey)and the privilege of selecting what we had for dinner - pizza, how shocking.

I had a cucumber and tomato salad with bleu cheese for dinner though, which was perhaps the yummiest thing I've ever eaten in my life. Summer and fresh veggies cannot come quick enough, I say.

And that was my day. Fascinating and entertaining, right?

I'm going to go re-read Adam, Eve & The Serpent now, wearing comfy jammie pants and snuggled under deep, deep layers of comforters. Because I feel self-indulgent like that.



7:07 pm - 01.21.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers