soapboxdiner


When sbd gets angry, this is what it looks like



If it weren't so perversely funny, I'd really be pissed. You get temp work in order to make a little money while you are in the process of looking for full time work. Is it ideal? Is it what I want to do? NO - it isn't. Daycare costs me 50% of my entire income - which is considerably less than what I'm worth, professionally speaking. Unfortunately, I can't seem to get a full time regular job. So it's a self defeating and self fulfulling cycle.

What do I do? I get a freaking state childcare subsidy so I can have enough fucking money to PAY MY RENT, which, you know, keeps me and the kid from being HOMELESS - and they fucking scalp me. The state that is.

So I write them a letter letting them know that they have over-estimated my income and request a re-evaluation, stating that as a temporary worker, I am at the mercy of the market when I work and that there was ONE period of time in which I spent two weeks at home. But now I'm working, and would like a re-evaluation.

So I get a letter of reply from the state saying that because I'm not working full time - apparently by my choice because OBVIOUSLY all low-income single parent households are run by lazy, good for nothing lay-abouts - I am not eligible for the subsidy. And get this fucking shit, and I quote, "Basically either you are working full time and qualified or not working and not qualified. Being employed with temporary agencies makes it very difficult to determine income and hours wo we have to go with the best estimation that we can. You may have to consider looking for a full time job elsewhere in able to keep before and after school care open. Please submit every paystub for the past three months then we can re-examine your copay and hours of child care."

No shit? You mean I should ideally be working full time in a capacity that affords a little stability? That this woman has the massive presumption to try to dictate my employment choices, that she presumes I work as a temp for reasons other than at least having something while I look for something permanent.

What kind of sadistically evil person works for an agency geared toward helping people in disadvantaged situations better their circumstances only to do everything in their power to make their lives even more difficult - to threaten them with disqualification? What kind of person does that?

Well, she's fucked with the wrong woman. According to her own words, they have to work under the "best estimate of income" of which, she has not. And if she thinks she can make suggestions on how I choose to earn something to support my family, she's in the wrong field and making suggestions to the wrong woman. I don't stand for that self-righteous, better-than-fucking-thou shit. That's inappropriate and wrong - and her actions to anyone else would be discouraging at the very least. What does she want, for the ones who are at least trying to get out there and work to be forced into welfare?

Commy bitch. If she thinks she or her supervisor, not to mention her agency's federal auditor has heard the last of me, she is SORELY mistaken.



5:49 pm - 11.18.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers