soapboxdiner


I need you baby, and if it's quite alright...



It's the middle of January, do you know where you stand in your potential new job?

This is the question that has been driving me to the brink of whatever brink doesn't make me look insane, just makes me feel like I am internally. (Call it pre-February melt-down. February's are notoriously bad for me, you know.)

What does it mean when you get a message telling you your interviewer can't get get through to your references, but doesn't return your phone calls offering faxed letters of recommendation?

I choose to believe she thought I was ace and really really likes my style, and so is giving the process a little more time to even out. Of course she doesn't return my calls because she doesn't want to alarm or upset me, and because she is an incredibly busy woman. Naturally, by the time I have to go into a meeting on Friday to discuss how I am to do my current job, I will be armed with the ability to tell her, "I got better things going. Thanks for your time."

I would discuss how today was wraught with thoughts such as, "Why do I care how others view me? The important thing is learning to please, accept, and love myself."

Which all feels like a bunch of divisive, self-deluding tripe that only pre-pubescent children devote internet space to. Of course it's important how the world views me. After all, isn't that what networking is all about? And lord knows, my networking skills have "areas of opportunity".

I sense that if I ever come up as a topic of discussion among communities of journallers, the general concensus would probably be that I'm a woman living precariously close to the edge. And I don't mean that in the Bon Jovi sense.

Anyway. I won't go into it, more because the thought of discussing this at length no longer interests me rather than the fact that all of this is remarkably dull and played for the unlucky reader. Funny, that.

Upshot (because I do so love upshots): DSHS called today to tell me they're refunding me $270 for daycare they didn't pay in Nov. and Dec. last year. Why, you ask? Because I rock the house, and can write a mean letter or two when called upon. This will do nicely, as I've been hankering to burn some bucks on some good stuff. Like shoes. Or a purse. Or maybe some new clothes for the kid. Or maybe a little of all of the above. That would most definitely be good times. I see smiles sprouting as I speak.

Happy action of the day: Lounge Singing You're just too good to be true inappropriately loudly and laughing at the responses I received. That was lots of fun.



10:23 pm - 01.15.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers