soapboxdiner


"I don't want to lose you, Joy."
"I don't want to be lost."



I never wholy saw what prompted Debra Winger's character (Joy Gresham) in The Shadowlands to say, "You've arranged a life for yourself where no one can touch you."

"What about Christopher Riley? He never lets me get away with anything. You know that."

"Except doubt, and fear, and PAIN, and TERROR!"

People as objects, people well-trained to play within bounds. Not too trying. Not too confrontational. Not too eliciting of question.

Today I saw those are the things she meant. What a lonely thing it is to live when everything and one around you is so vibrant and yet cannot touch you.

Hmm. Now there is a thought to chew on.

Steven was running over to his friend's house yesterday, slipped in the mud, and hit the corner of his eye on a box. It's swollen shut with a quite impressive blue halo around it.

At work this past week, I sprained my left pinky finger and it is swollen and uncooperative today.

I look forward to tomorrow when I take my black-eyed child into school and they see my hand wrapped in an Ace bandage. I see good times with CPS is in the near future!



2:53 pm - 01.05.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers