soapboxdiner


"I see naked people...everywhere"



I've been gone so long from this place - not this place, as in Soapbox Diner - but from Diaryland and my writing as I wish to write, I almost feel as if I've lost the ability to write altogether. I must try to remedy this. The words escape my though. The right words, the lyrical rhythmic ones that flow so beautifully off the tip of my fingers as I type them. I wonder... where have they gone?

I got too enmeshed in pleasing others in the old place. I worried too much about writing something interesting every day. In writing something that would draw readers and mass appeal - and let's just face it, I'm much more likeable when I desist from that. Not that likeability is the be-all, but my twisted tweaked little brain seems to want me to think so.

.:sigh:.

So a funny thing happened this week: The car broke down. Not that that is surprising; the thing is on its last (crippled) leg here. It has put it's $500 purchase price in and is ready to tell me to bugger off and let it die in peace already.

Picture this: Monday morning, 7 am. Frantically leaving home to face the work day. Get the kid in the car, get the coffee and the lunches and the purse and the person in the car, all strapped in and snug. Insert key into ignition, turn, and what happens? Click. Click. Clickclickclick. Nothing. Not a crank, not a rattle, nothing. So the (new, two-week old) boss is called and informed. The tow truck is called. The mechanic is called.

Fast forward 45 minutes and toothless, big black cavity-laden Tow Truck Driver arrives. He takes really common last name and says, "That's with three Qs and a silent K, right?" Hahaha ha ha. Comedian, eh?

He takes other pertinent information and starts the process of hooking the car up to the tow. He turns to the side, bends, and flashes me with naked womanhood. Oh, the joy of naked lady tattoos on hairy man legs. Shudders of excitement were threatening to loom, right there.

He turns the other way and guess what? Naked lady tattoo is now showing some cheek. What's the use of naked womanhood if it isn't 3D, right?

So in the absence of a better small talk topic, we discuss naked womanhood.

Me: There are naked women on your legs.

TTD: Uh, yeah. The boss says I gotsta wear me some long-pants, cuz he thinks somebody be offended by dem. But I tell him No Way, Man.

Me: That is very liberated of you, standing up to the man like that. Who needs a job if it means covering up naked women tattoos, right?

TTD: That's what I'm sayin, see. Cuz man, I see me some naked women all the time. They's the most beautiful thing there is. Like I always say, God made Eve cuz after he got done making Adam, he thought he was too ugly. (as he laughs at his own joke.) Yup. I sees me some naked women all the time, up here (pointing to his greasy brown-gray straggles of dreading hair.)

Me: Fascinating. All right then. You go, guy.

I can just hear it: I see naked people... They're everywhere.



5:23 pm - 07.25.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers