soapboxdiner


I got yo bitch, sucka



You know it's funny when you get to change perspectives.

Today I got a bitch at work. (yes, I shall once again discuss work. I would be apologetic about this, but it's what's happening in my life right now. Therefore...I say deal with it.) Now bitch is what the perms call new temps. "Have you seen my bitch?" and "I got my bitch on it right now." These, I'm sure you will all agree, are all well thought out and loving things say when they regard another human being. But isn't it fun in a devilish, tyrannical, slightly prison-ish sort of way just to utter those words? Today, I had a bitch.

Look at me, get myself a charge of an $8/hr temp and I'm drunk with power. Shame on me.

So. Perspective. I've bored you all enough with my compulsive whining about what I do for you to know how I feel about my performance and abilities as an account manager. Some good, some really really bad. Kinda a lot of bad. I've been a temp for a while now. I've even been an $8/hr temp. I've had crap assignments that I've walked out on in day one. But today I got to see it all from the boss' perspective. And I tell you right now, none of you want ME for your boss. I don't even want me for my boss. Slave driver, I am.

But I also tell you, when it takes a healthy adult person three hours to pick up a box, read a number, and sort that number into a stack... THAT is when I start understanding how the other side lives. How in the world can this be so difficult for you for pity's sake! It's a box! Look at it and then put it over there, that's all!

But then I saw my bitch in the break room. After all my exaspiration with her that I tried not to let show too much, I saw her. She had her head in her hands and a distant pre-occupied look of sheer dejection on her face.

And so I asked her how things were going. I told her she was so helpful to me and I appreciated every last second of those lousy three hours I could have done in 20 minutes. I told her she was fabulous.

And she wasn't my bitch anymore. She was just Linda, a lady working for $8 an hour who had too much on her mind.



8:45 pm - 09.04.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers