soapboxdiner


Just another missed opportunity



Man. Crash city. I hate crashing. Crashing = no fun for Soapbox Diner.

I just got off the phone with my friend Graham. He's a lovely Irishman I met three years ago by way of a personal ad. He came to Seattle after a couple o' months correspondence to meet me. Well actually, he came here to marry someone else who ended up dumping him and marrying another bloke a week before he was scheduled to make his flight, but that's neither here nor there.

Anyway, he came out and we met. He was heartbroken and seriously rebounding. I took him to the Seattle Center and around town on a luncheon date. We hung out one more time when he was here and he asked to kiss me.

I told him no because he was rebounding and it would fuck with both of our heads if we got intimate. Three days later he took an early flight back to Dublin. A couple of months later, he phoned me from Texas and told me he was married. Today he has a two-year-old son, another on the way, and he's moving back to Ireland.

Damn I wish I would have taken that kiss. As it turns out, he was much more together that I would have been, and his word was gold. He's happily married and reminds me off me refusing his offer of himself every time we talk.

That could have been me, kids. I could be married to a short round hairy Irishman with a glorious accent right now, propogating the species like mad. But instead I'm a neurotic single chick with a kid and no money, talking to a short round balding Irishman about his growing family and immenent trip back across the pond.

Bummer, man.



9:07 pm - 12.16.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers