soapboxdiner


Who died and made me Emily Post?



Sometimes I wonder where I get off having this major 'tude all the time.

New Girl at work pisses me off to no end. Her every action, every word just makes me want to scream at her. But you know what? That's really my problem, not her's. But I never have been good at putting up a facade with people I don't like.

It isn't that I don't have good reason to not like her. I find her to be self-absorbed and selfish, pushy and inconsiderate. She carries herself with an air of entitlement and refuses to stop talking about herself - to the point that no one else can get a full sentence out before she cuts them off to talk some more about herself. She has the same job as me, but prefers to stick close to the management, refusing to go out and perform less glamourous parts of the job, leaving them to me. Instead, she sachets her perfect and lovely self around the office and gets trained in more advanced things. Which is fine, but when you're hired to partner with someone and perform a job to completion, well. I take that to mean you should do that job. You don't stop doing your own work and smile and toss your hair about so you can get out of doing it. And that's my problem with her. I don't appreciate doing the work of two people so she can move up the ladder on my back.

And more specifically petty of me, she hogs the desk we share. We share a chair, which she uses as her personal coat rack. She puts her purse under it so every time I go to sit down, I trip over it and get it caught in the wheels of the chair. Petty, oh you betcha. But would it kill the woman to consider that as a shared space, she might put her coat in the closet or move her purse so I don't have to crack my head open when I trip and fall on my face?

And stupid questions. "Where in the unit have you been today?" when she finally gets around to doing some work. "Well, you see that checklist taped to the desk? You know, the one we're supposed to use every day to highlight where we've been - but you never use? You know, the same one you're currently looking at? The one I've marked off. Yeah, I've been there. Perhaps you might take the DAILY hints I give you to actually LOOK AT IT!"

Yes, this is all my problem. I'm tired of being the person filling the roll of "office bitch." I'm starting to wonder if I'm just not content unless I can get all negative and bitchy with at least one person in my world at any given moment. Perhaps I should just be happy for her special skills at job avoidance and butt kissing. Perhaps I'd be a happier camper and a more pleasant person to be around. But you know what? Then I wouldn't be me.

And this cold? The cold combined with New Girl, my ass has been kicked. Going in to work this morning presented me with an instant migraine. I lasted two fun-filled hours of sinus drainage and racking cough before I finally went home. I'd planned on getting drunk and making Christmas Chex mix all alone in peace and quiet of my home, but instead laid down and slept till 5 this afternoon. Go Fun Loving Party Girl me. I'm a hoot to hang with.



9:17 pm - 12.11.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers