soapboxdiner


Why yes, I would like fries with this



Why is it ever time I try to talk to someone I'm really trying to impress, everything comes out of my mouth in Elmer Fud-inese?

The interview: They knew all of my references. They knew all of my former employers - and mentioned a few I hadn't even listed. They named-dropped like it was reunion night at the House floor. I showed them my letters of recommendation. They asked, "Can we call this doctor who wrote nice things about you four years ago?"

"Um, why don't you let me call him first to announce you."

So I called.

"Hi, doctor? It's me, SBD."

"Refresh me. I don't recall who the hell you are."

Abba da abba da, that's all folks.

Right.

Did I mention that the HR manager said, "I don't see a lot of phone work on your resume."? Phone work. I'm so not getting this job.

I fear I am destined to be a temporary worker until my dying day. I'm so bummed.



2:39 pm - 11.22.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers