soapboxdiner


Vaseline and Omnipotence



Soapbox Diner job searcher extraordinaire, checking in following her interview.

When last the story left off, our heroine briefly, somewhat questionably, pondereed the ramifications of what working at a Country Club on Money Island would mean karmically, financially, and romantically. Well allow me to KICK MY OWN ASS and CALL ME SALLY! What a beautiful, low-key place. Everyone was sweet and very much Country Club Chic. I think I pulled off faking that I, too, am a member of the CCC. I taped my eyebrows back to create that SURPRISE! look that's so prevalent in the upper echelons, and I coated my teeth with Vaseline to facilitate the non-stop smile. I'm sure you'll agree, it was all Over and Above. I mean, EFFORT was taken here people, and that's saying A LOT.

I'm kidding. But the administrator really was very sweet. As we sat in the foyer, we discussed our respective accents, WordPerfect (of all things) being the be-all-end-all of word processing software programs, and how the position comes with FREE country club lunch every day! It also features much free time in which the employee is encouraged to read or do other slackerly-like activities (hi Diaryland!) and gets Mondays off. Is there a more perfect positions? It will be perfect for going back to school, as it will not be a drain on my noggin, I'll get paid for doing homework, and I don't have brown paper bag any food-type products in the morning! It will be like dorm life, only better!

Cross your fingers, all. Of all the recent interviews I've had - of all the potential employers I've sat down with, this is by fair most appealing.

Oh and Karma - I'm really really REALLY sorry for questioning your omnipotence earlier. I hope you were too busy settling scores with other doubters to hear me!



3:39 pm - 11.02.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers