soapboxdiner


I'm gonna go to college & Bush is a sodomite



Focus is such a gift, don't you think? When for a shiny second you feel clear in purpose and direction and when a positive goal settles into your sights just long enough for you to take measures to achieve it.

Yay for goals and focus. My shiny moment came this morning and lasted 45 minutes - just long enough to complete a 2003 FAFSA application. Guess who just might very well be a college student in January? I just may get "there" yet.

I guess all it takes is pissing me off real good just one too many times.

Welcome back, Action Girl. I missed you.


My very own existential crap aside, I was catching up on the truth about george. There's a link to TTAG on my links page if you are interested. Anyway, so yeah. Catching up on our fine president's innumerable faux pas of late, I come across some reading about all this marriage initiative business the administration is pushing on female/single parent welfare reform. Aside from the staggering amount of backward thinking presented in the form of "if you want to become financially solvent all you poor women out there, get yourself a man," I came across one adjective attached to children that has the ability to incense me over any other: illegitimate.

What, exactly, does this title mean? Webster's Ninth New Collegiate defines legitimate as:

  1. To make legitimate
  2. To give legal status or authorization to
  3. To show or affirm to be justified
  4. To put (a bastard) in the state of legitimate child before the law by legal means

Therefore, according to our administration, my child is neither authorized, justified, or legal to exist. Who in the hell do these people think they are? Since when do fetuses require state approval to make their way down the birth canal? And not justified? How dare that unborn child presume to have the right to live and breathe! The government will be making those calls 'round here. Uppity newborns. Better start building more prisons to lock those delinquent bastards up now!

And the very notion that the only way to legalize my child's existence in the state of my government is to bind myself permanently to not just another person but specifically and exclusively to a man is ridiculous.

Fuck all, Mr. President, I thought you were against sodomy. Get your head out of your ass and come into the real world.



10:48 am - 10.19.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers