soapboxdiner


Update



Update on last night's entry.

It seems someone was trying to steal the neighbor's truck last night. The gunshot was the neighbor (or one of his guests) shooting and wounding the thief.

The man or men arrested for the shooting, well, no one is certain just exactly who it was. I thought it was the neighbor's brother-in-law, but I saw him walking out in the street this morning. Rumor has it that the shooter was the neighbor, himself. I didn't see the face of the man who got arrested last night, but he didn't look like the neighbor in physical stature, kneeling there on the street last night.

The thief was picked up at the grocery store two blocks away. He was taken to the local trauma hospital for surgery.

When I got up this morning, the crime scene tape was gone and children were once again riding their bikes and playing in the neighborhood.

The landlady said she never thought there was a problem with these people. She mentioned something about other residents complaining of domestic fighting, but had no idea about the parties or that three disturbances of the peace have been called on these people in the last year.

She says she will be dealing with it. However, the last time she dealt with a resident was eight years ago, which is how I picked up my luxury abode for three thousand dollars, some used heroine syringes, and several colonies of cockroaches. The money was mine. The drugs and vermin were not.

If these people are evicted, I will be a happy woman. If they are not, I will be seeing about moving, after getting settled ito the new job.

Speaking of the job... I will not be comfortable until I am in there. There is just something odd about getting called at 8, interviewed at 10, and asked at 11 to bring my typing skills back in two weeks. Too easy. I will call Monday to discuss it with her more. Maybe if I get scheduled to talk with HR and find out about compensation it will feel a little more concrete, and I will be able to relax.



2:17 pm - 02.22.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers