soapboxdiner


SBD: Student at Small



Life has been quiet on the home front, darlings, and nothing has been the same. I have shifted my hours to part-time at work and this will be my first quarter of full-time studenthood.

School has been an eye-, and mind-opening experience so far, and one that I want to continue. So much has been on my mind personally. I want to explore it all. Things move too quickly to savor. I want to be a great writer who moves the human soul. I want to be a great thinker who expands the minds of the masses. I seek solitude and reminisce for the days that were filled with too many voices all calling for exceptionalism without personal commitment.

I look at the world and I see patterns of repetition that give me solace. I peer out and see hope where I saw no hope before. I gaze inward and I see a chasm of ignorance and trepidation, and a fear of inequity. I see determination and humility, desire and remorse. I see a need for reconciliation and a vast gulf between here and there.

I see fear and I see longing, and I mount a campaign to overcome psychological obstacles that have confined me to serfdom where only the limits of my self confidence confine me to an impotent second class mentality from which I can neither imagine escape nor truly, hungrily affect a complete reconfiguration of self.

I look out at the world and see poverty and deprivation in the midst of wealth and of greed, and the part of me that champions equality issues a rallying cry that nuts-and-bolts reality rejects on the simple premise that all subjugation is, at least in part, self inflicted by way of acquiescence and the breaking of human spirit perpetuated by the greed of the rich but nonetheless accepted by the resignation and lack of effective renunciation of masses.

And so, in that respect, nothing has changed, other than a more enlightened and refined understanding, and a burgeoning desire to act.



3:35 pm - 04.03.11
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers