soapboxdiner


Le sigh



So the sillies at work have been sending me questions like "What's the difference between Then and Than?

So I was just answering them and they were like, "Wow, thanks. Have any neat tricks for knowing when to use X versus X?"

So then I was like, "Um, your whole profession -- what you get paid for -- is having good English skills and being able to look stuff up if you don't know. Are you for serious with yourself?"

So THEN I was like, "Hey, I know. Why don't we play a game." I even got the company to buy gifts for the winners. "Why don't I ask YOU what something is, then you can go out and find the answer. I'll pick a winner and you get a prize."

And everyone was like, "Wow. Totally fun. I'm in!"

So we've been doing this game for a couple weeks now and today I sent out this week's question. Feeling mighty proud of myself because I was simultaneously juggling, like, ten gazillion projects and not forgetting a single dang thing.

So I proofed my email and hit send. Then I read it again, as I am wont to do when I want to torture myself with a crushing blow to my entire ego, and this is what I sent out -- company wide:

It's versus Its: Knowing when to use the plural versus the possessive.*

Seriously. I totally did that. Because I'm completely half retarded approximately 32.6% of the time -- usually just in public.

* You too? It's is a contraction, not a plural OR a possessive. See? It can happen to the best of us.



10:42 pm - 01.25.10
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers