soapboxdiner


Bitter



Hello, muffins.

Today was a day and a half. A call from my mother castigating me for not returning a call I didn't realize she'd placed (declining our invite to the Thanksgiving we're hosting), then inviting us to Christmas, then telling me that M00d is not invited, but if D00d, S00d and I can't politely come without M00d, then we should just stay home as well.

This now marks the FOURTH time I have been asked not to attend my mother's self-defined "family-only" Christmas gatherings. All very politely and aplogetically, of course.

-----Original Message-----
From: SBD
Sent: Tuesday, November 17, 2009 1:20 PM
To: D00d
Subject: Christmas

Mom just called and asked us what we were doing for Christmas. She invited you, me, and S00d for opening presents on Christmas Eve, and said M00d is invited to Christmas Day dinner. Because Christmas Eve is �just for family,� if M00d would be offended by not being invited to Christmas Eve, maybe the Kiddo and I shouldn�t come over that night. She suggested that perhaps we could go to your house for Christmas Eve.

I just got uninvited to Mom�s �family-only� Christmas Eve.

Again.

I don�t know. I may be too busy to come to Christmas at her house at all.

I don't understand it, and it hurts more than I'll ever show her.

Dood wrote back:

-----Original Message-----
From: D00d
Sent: Tuesday, November 17, 2009 1:55 PM
To: SBD
Subject: RE: Christmas

That is kinda weird. I'd feel kinda bad leaving my Ma home alone on Christmas Eve.

Yes. Come over to my house for Xmas Eve. Is the Kiddo OK with that?

I don't understand that. But if you and the Kiddo wanted to go to your Ma's Xmas Eve, I don't have a problem with it. I'd be spending it home then and see you Xmas day.

I'm not sure how your Mom is going to address the holidays once we're married.

Which made me very giddy.

Middle Manager in Training (MMIT) was called into the Boss's office this afternoon, followed by CEO. Behind the closed door and through the wall, I heard laughter and "Oh, this is such good, happy news!" come out of MMIT's thin, smarmy lips. Then voices hushed and I went about my day. At quitting time, he came into my office to say good night, and I was all, "Sorry to overhear, but it sounded like you got good news! You got a promotion, huh? Congratulations, Slimy!"

To which he replied, "Well, I've been asked not to say anything to The Staff until it's announced. Sorry, you'll have to wait to hear it from them."

"OK then. Well, I just wanted to be the first to tell you congratulations in a private moment."

Pukey slimeball.

And yes, I will burn in Hell. And yes, I deserve all the kicked out of Christmases I get. I'm a jealous, covetous, evil, egocentric woman, SBD be my name. But pardon me while I don't understand how a slacking smoozer like MMIT has shown any redemptive attributes qualifying him for promotion.

There, I said it. I feel better now. And you know, once the announcement is made, I bet you $10 that he's getting put in charge of technology integration. Probably because he once uttered, "Analog technology is pass�," to the right person. Not that any project he's been put in charge of has ever come to fruition. But whatever.



6:03 pm - 11.17.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers